Funky Fraiche Friday [09.28.12]

Sadly, summer is over. But, do not fret. To quote F. Scott Fitzgerald, “Life starts all over again when it gets crisp in the fall.” And nothing says new beginnings than blacking out hard on a gorgeous Sunday afternoon at Sidebar…still recovering. I guess what I’m really trying to say is that fall is pretty sweet. Probably my favorite season, though college springs were nice too…dammit I miss you…cue tear). I mean, you’ve got football (real refs back, thank God), Mit Romney’s downfall as a direct result of a smart phone video (gotta love technology), and simplest of all joys, not sweating through my clothes to and from anywhere in the city. Now that all that is off my chest, let the funk take over. This week we start of similar to last week with some new music from Late Nite Tuff Guy. Then we get into a mixes from the likes of Luigi Rocca, Miguel Migs, and Prok & Fitch, and then some new tracks from WhiteNoize, Star Slinger, Gigamesh, Alex Metric, and Solidisco.

LNTG always goes down smooth and leaves a wonderful aftertaste. Great touch up on a classic soulful R&B track from the least fucked up of the Jacksons.

Mix time. We start off with the sensual sounds of Miguel Migs. Perfect for lazy afternoons, stress relief at the office, one-on-one candlelight dance sessions, and twisting blunts.


01. The White Lamp ‘Its You’ (Mix 2 Edit) (Future Boogie Records) 
02. Blank & Jones ‘Happiness’ (Miguel Migs Salted Dub) 
03. DJ Fudge ‘Garito Breeze’ 
04. Husky feat. Alyson Joyce ‘Crazy Enough’ (Edit) (Salted) 
05. Alysha Kid ‘Mei Bee (Dufflebag Records) 
06. Zenbi feat. Martina Camargo ‘Locombia’ (Deeplomatik Remix) (Salted) 
07. Sonny Fodera, Wally Callerio, Jorge Watts & Daniel Treloar ‘Rumble At Night’ (Beatdown Records) 
08. My Name ‘Good Girl Bad Girl’ (Soundz Dynamic) 
09. Miguel Migs ‘Tonight’ (James Dexter Remix) (OM Records) 
10. Dave Mayer feat. Louis Hale ‘Sub Spectrum’ (Original Mix) 
12. Inland Knights ‘High Horse’ 
13. Arco ‘Where You At (Salted) 
14. Ladybird ‘Highlight My Life’ (Bitter Suite Dub)

Next we add some more bass and speed up the tempto a bit with some dope house grooves from Luigi Rocca, one of the heads of the 303Lovers label. His mixing skills are top-notch. Take notes.


01. Libex – 2 Get (Original Mix) 
02. Kevin Andrews – Raise It Up (Original Mix) 
03. Franco Delmone – Take The Next Step (Original Mix) 
04. NDKj – Everybody Get Up (Original Mix) 
05. Dainty Doll – Awesome Sauce (Original Mix) 
06. Do Santos – Nice Track (Original Mix) 
07. Alessandro D’avenia – Right Now (Original Mix) 
08. Danny Qattro – Evil Ways (Original Mix) 
09. White Fat – Long White Clouds (Original Mix) 
10. Steve Slight – Hands Up (Original Mix) 
11. Luigi Rocca, DJ Lion – Krakra Hurricane (Original Mix) 
12. PHNTM – Underground (Original Mix)

You should be familiar with these guys by now. It’s Prok & Fitch with another solid episode of their Floorplay Podcast. This is the point where the chatter stops, and the dancing takes you over. The second track is a new fav of mine. Gorgeous vocals.


01. Darius Syrossian – My Side Project (Original mix) Mile End records
02. Candi Staton – Hallelujah Anyway (Larse Vocal) Defected
03. Grooveyard – Mary Go Wild (Tom Shark Remix) Work
04. Belocca – Back to the old School (Original) Mainground
05. Rober Gaez – Drunkin Preacher (Paco Maroto remix) Urbana
06. James Murray – Lost in Space
07. Superskank – Good time (Oliver Giacomotto remix) 1605
08. Prok & Fitch – Symphony (Federico Scavo remix)
09. Dirty Harris – Jumpin (Original) Maquina
10. Evol Waves – Funkytown (Original mix) Abzolut
11. Prok & Fitch vs Bass Kleph – Untitled (Original) CDR
12. Eigo – Bring it (Original) Ministry
13. John Dahlback – Sing That (original) Toolroom

Now we enter the singles section. A smorgasbord of new music from various artists. And we begin with a new free original track from WhiteNoize.

Now let’s get a little weird with some hip-hop, slowsteppin’, deep grooves from Star Slinger. Dedicated to the ladies in the back. Love what my man’s been doing lately. Fire. Oh and to be informative…there is also an instrumental if you don’t dig the lyrical version.

Speed it back up. Solidisco is creating that new age, modern disco, house music. And they are killin’ it. Here is their new Daft Punk remix. Fo free. Fraiche.

Gigamesh is always reliable for groovy disco. This one is a remix of the sing-a-long styled Moullinex single “Take My Pain Away.” It does just that. After all, we are all on a sort of pursuit of happiness…are we not?

And we will end with Alex Metric’s fantastically funky take on Ellie Goulding’s latest single, “Anything Could Happen.” The dude is next level. Sampling is so on point.

Leave a Reply